Is Driving Uninsured Illegal In Michigan?

By Steven M. Gursten, attorney and President of Michigan Auto Law


Driving without insurance in Michigan is illegal, and it can result in many penalties. If you are caught driving while uninsured, your license may be suspended and/or revoked. You may also have to pay fines and other penalties.

Under Michigan law, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle without insurance.

Being uninsured and operating a vehicle in Michigan is a crime and can carry severe penalties.

Michigan law requires you to have auto insurance and you must provide proof of insurance to the police when requested to do so.

Driving uninsured in Michigan can result in many penalties, including a misdemeanor on your criminal record.

If you are found to be uninsured and operating a vehicle in Michigan, there can be some serious consequences. The penalties can include fines, jail time and a misdemeanor on your criminal record. Additionally, the state can suspend your driver’s license and bar you from renewing your license plates until you purchase and maintain the legally required insurance. If you are in an auto accident, then you will be prohibited from suing the at-fault driver for pain and suffering compensation and you will be disqualified from No-Fault benefits to pay medical expenses and wage loss.

If you have an accident with an uninsured driver, you cannot sue for pain and suffering damages unless you have uninsured motorist coverage.

Uninsured motorist coverage is optional coverage in Michigan. Unlike liability and No-Fault coverage, drivers are not legally required to maintain “uninsured motorist (UM)” insurance on their vehicles.

In the event that you are injured in a crash caused by an uninsured driver, your UM insurance will likely be your only way of recovering the pain and suffering compensation that the at-fault driver would be legally liable to pay if he or she had liability insurance coverage.

Be aware of the penalties for driving uninsured in Michigan.

Being uninsured and operating a vehicle is against the law in Michigan. If you are caught, you may be charged with a misdemeanor and face fines of $200 to $500. You could also be sent to jail for up to one year. Your driver’s license could be suspended for up to 30 days or until you obtain the insurance coverage required by Michigan law. If you’re in a crash while driving uninsured, then your rights to sue for and collect compensation and economic damages could be forfeited.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *